Triptych for Saxophone Quartet

Grade : 5
Duration : 8:30

Soprano Saxophone in Bb
Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb

A triptych is three sequential, connected art renderings. This composition consists of three movements “fast-slow-fast”. The melodic motif in each section is derived from an introductory theme, leaving the three movements closely related instead of being separate short pieces.
Commissioned by Vive! Saxophone Quartet, composed between March and May of 2015, it premiered on their June 3rd, 2015 concert.

The work was inspired by modern French saxophone quartet music such as compositions by F. Schmitt. The 2nd movement was heavily influenced by Vaughn Williams’ String Quartet No. 2, 2nd movement.

Copyright © 2020 Bravo Music Inc.