JWECC 2010 - Liberation - Works of Maslanka


JWECC Honor Band (1), Nagoya Academic Winds (2-6)
Conductors: Kotai Yoh (1), Mamoru Nakata (2-6)
1. Liberation For Symphonic Wind Ensemble and Chorus (Premier) - 19:50
Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble
2. I. Song: “Fire in the Earth” - 8:48
3. II. Interlude: “Bright Window, Your Night is Full of Stars” - 4:47
4. III. Song: “Dear Jesus, what have you Done?!” - 8:20
5. IV. Interlude: “Starry Night” - 9:30
6. V. Song: “Mortal, have you seen this?” - 9:04

David Maslanka
David Maslanka was born in New Bedford, Massachusetts in 1943. He attended Oberlin College Conservatory where he studied composition with Joseph Wood. He spent a year at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria, and did graduate work in composition at Michigan State University with H. Owen Reed. Maslanka's works for winds and percussion have become especially well known. They include among others, "A Child's Garden of Dreams" for Symphonic Wind Ensemble, "Concerto for Piano, Winds and Percussion," and the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th symphonies.

2010 Japan Wind and Ensemble Conductors Conference JWECC is a dynamic organization of professionals known for artistic initiative, innovative teaching, and dedicated service. Recognizing a need for developing repertoire, JWECC is an enterprising pacesetter in commissioning new music through collaborative efforts between composers and bands. New music fulfills the human need for not only expressing fresh points of view but also for re-framing our existing knowledge with each listening experience. Our members actively develop relationships with composers and enthusiastically pursue individual and consortium commissioning projects while passionately devoting our daily energies to sensitive performances and recordings of current and new wind band music.

Copyright © 2020 Bravo Music Inc.